Mac and iOS automation to get the IMDb reference from the URL

When I want to add a movie to my database in obsidian I need to get the reference number from IMDb. To do it manually is a pain in the rear end. It’s much easier to create a shortcut in the shortcut application on the Mac or on iOS and have the job done automatically. This is what computers are really good for. When you have it automated it does it writer and is it the same every time. It isn’t susceptible to you making a mistake as you do it manually. It gets all of the numbers and all of the letters without any mistakes. It is completely repeatable. IMDB Reference

Watch the Tutorial

I also made a quick YouTube Short to show how I use the shortcut I made on my iPhone.

Use a Shortcuts Automation to get IMDB ref to use in Obsidian